Tommy Morrow - 2017 Mens NI Individual Champion

Tommy Morrow is the new NIPA Northern Ireland Mens Individual Champion. At the end of a fantastic two days of Pool the Ballymoney man proudly held the trophy after an epic Final against Ballymena's Gary Clarke. Tommy's path to the final from the Last 16 stage included wins over Alaister Wilson 6-2, Pat McAnally 7-4 and Gary Wallace 7-5 whilst Gary had seen off Ryan McKillop 6-0, Willie Eakin 7-4 and Rab Fee 7-4. Frames went as follows in the Final.

Frame 01 - Morrow, break & dish
Frame 02 - Clarke with a great back double on the black into the corner pocket
Frame 03 - Morrow scratched on the break, Clarke went in off first shot and Morrow cleared
Frame 04 - Clarke with a break & dish
Frame 05 - Morrow broke dry, Clarke cleared
Frame 06 - Clarke with another break & dish
Frame 07 - Clarke has the momentum now in his stride 5-2
Frame 08 - Clarke edges it to lead 6-2
Frame 09 - Turning point as Morrow gets back in after going in off from the break
Frame 10 - Morrow to trail 4-6
Frame 11 - Morrow takes it after Clarke misses his last red
Frame 12 - Morrow levels the match at 6-6
Frame 13 - Morrow breaks dry but gets straight back in again and clears up
Frame 14 - Clarke breaks dry and Morrow plays a classic tactical frame before pulling the trigger to win the match 8-6 and become 2017 Northern Ireland Champion

Gary has been Runner Up now for two yearts on the trot and it's surely only a matter of time before he claims the crown, but for now it belongs in Ballymoney with Tommy who deserves total credit for coming back from 2-6 down to win the match in style.

In the photo - 2017 Champion Tommy Morrow (right) and Runner Up Gary Clarke