AGM sees the end of an era

Our AGM on Sunday 28th June seen the end of an era. After 30 years of dedication to the NIPA, Cliff Wilson from Newtownards (pictured right), has stepped down as Chairman to take the position of President. Cliff has been a rock to the NIPA. As with any organisation there are ups and downs, and during the tough periods it was Cliff who kept the NIPA afloat almost single handedly. No slouch on the green baize, Cliff himself was Northern Ireland Individual Pool Champion in 1979. In an emotional speech dotted with his unique sense of humour, Cliff paid tribute to the present Committee, and also to individuals Trevor Harte, May Boyd, Ross Hill and Edith McFeeters for their invaluable support to him over the years. 21 people in total attended the AGM, and Cliff was given a rapturous round of applause.

Cliff will be succeeded by Willie Lucas from Antrim who steps up from Vice Chairman. Willie is also our 'B' Team Manager and so has invaluable experience " on and off the field." Cliff is more than confident that Willie has the ability and vision to lead us forward. Elise Richardson stays as Financial Controller, Robert Hawkins as Secretary, and Lesley Leddy as General Manager. Debby Walker moves to Vice Chairman, while we welcome on board Derek Whiteside as Press Officer, Pauline Lynch as NI Specials representitive and Ady Toner as Competition Conveynor

It will be "all stations go" as we prepare our calendar of events for 2009/10. This kicks off with the Northern Ireland Qualifiers and the European Championships both just round the corner in September.