Kings of the Castle

Its congtratulations to Castle Pool Team from the Carrick & District Pool League who won the Willie Lucas Super 7s Competition held in Laverys Pool Hall, Belfast on Sunday 5th June. It was sweet success this year for Derek Whiteside's team as they were runners up in the competition last year.

In the final they beat Larne League team Coast Road, in what was an absorbing match. It finished all square at 7-7 after the 14 frames, but Dee Irwin took out a fine finish in the play off decider to take the trophy back down the M5 to Carrick.

Pictured right Castle celebrate their win and below Dayne Lucas presents Castle Captain Derek Whiteside with the winners trophy. Also there on the day was James Gourley, son of Willie's partner Gillian.

Group A
Rockers 10-4 Six Mile Sevens
Forge Bar 13-1
Rockers 11-3
Six Mile Sevens 8-7 Rack & Rollers
Rack & Rollers 13-1
Forge Bar 8-6 Rockers
Forge Bar 8-6 Rack & Rollers
Six Mile Sevens 12-2
Forge Bar 12-2 Six Mile Sevens
Rockers 8-6 Rack & Rollers

1st Forge Bar (Coleraine)
2nd Rockers (Carrick)
3rd Six Mile Sevens (Ballyclare)
4th Rack & Rollers (Ballymoney)
5th (Ladies)

Group B
Castle 10-4 Racks Old Boys
McKenna's 11-3 Round Ups
Racks Old Boys 8-6 McKenna's
Castle 8-6 Coast Road
Coast Road 9-5 McKenna's
Racks Old Boys 8-7 Round Ups
Coast Road 10-4 Round Ups
McKenna's 8-6 Castle
Castle 13-1 Round Ups
Coast Road 10-4 Racks Old Boys

1st Castle (Carrick)
2nd Coast Road (Larne)
3rd McKenna's (Antrim)
4th Racks Old Boys (Ballymoney)
5th Round Ups (North Down & Ards)

Semi Finals - Castle 8-5 Rockers, Coast Road 8-2 Forge Bar
3rd & 4th place play off - Rockers 8-5 Forge Bar
Final - Castle 8-7 Coast Road 

Plate event Semi Finals - Racks Old Boys 9-5 Rack & Rollers, Six Mile Sevens 8-4 Round Ups
Plate event Final - Racks Old Boys 8-7 Six Mile Sevens

A massive thank you goes to Trevor Harte and Pauline Lynch on the top table who as usual done an outstanding job in running the days events and to Laverys Pool Hall management and staff. The ballot, a chinese hamper, was won by David Patterson from North Down & Ards.