Mens 2012 Trials great success

The Mens 2012 International Trials have ended after 4 days of stamina draining intense action at the Plaza Hotel. The Top 16 players are now confirmed and each will be offered a place on one of our 3 Mens' team panels. The Top 4 players played off to see where the Prizes went and in the first Semi Final Billy Moore edged out his fellow Coleraine cueist Lee Caulfield 3-2 after trailing 2-0. In the second Semi, Brian Crilly from Newtownards came from 1-0 down to beat Marc Hutchinson 3-1. The Final was nailbiting with frames as follows -

1/ Moore (superb 8 ball clearance from a dry Crilly break)
2/ Moore (just edged it after a close frame)
3/ Crilly (Moore was unlucky after trying to promote a difficult 2nd last colour, a relieved Crilly took the frame )
4/ Crilly (classy break and dish)
5/ Crilly (good clearance when he got his chance)
6/ Moore (took full advantage of an uncharacteristic Crilly missed black to level at 3-3)
7/ Crilly (another faultless break and dish)

In the picture above are the 4 finalists. (L ~ R) Brian Crilly, Marc Hutchinson, Billy Moore and Lee Caulfield

Prizes as follows - (2012 European Championships)
Brian Crilly - Free return flights, free accomodation and £200 spending money
Billy Moore - Free return flights and free accomodation
Lee Caulfield - Free return flights
Marc Hutchinson - Free return flights

Table after a possible maximum 75 Frames per person (Red Top 4, Blue 5-16)
55 - Lee Caulfield, Marc Hutchinson, Brian Crilly
54 - Billy Moore
50 - Sam Newell, Ady Toner, Willie Eakin
48 - Colin Moore
47 - Tom McCorry
45 - Declan Duff, Paul Harris, Paul Currie
44 - Herbie O'Neil, Rab Butler, Gee Crawley
43 - Andy Arbuthnot
41 - Alan Tosh, Wayne Lewis
40 - Corey Sweeney, Trevor Whiteside, Andy McMeekin, Paul Roberts, Lee Wright, Keith Hunter
39 - Tristan Scott-Heyes, Gary Johnston
38 - Ricky Crooke
37 - Billy Brown, Joe Patton
35 - Darren Lowe
34 - Matt Wylie
33 - Ben Nesbitt, Alex Irwin
32 - Terry McDowell, William Irvine
31 - Paddy Lynch
30 - Dessie Cooper, Stephen Burns
29 - Tyler McConnell, Mervyn McIlvenny
28 - Lee Hull
26 - Glen Harrington, Graeme Larmour
25 - James Cartmill, Peter Leddy
24 - Jason Heffron
23 - Rab Brown, Darren Sterrett
22 - Jonny Johnston, Jamie Boyd, Richard Campbell, Anton Arthurs
21 - Michael Lowry
20 - Kenny English
19 - Clem Howard, Simon McKibben
17 - Derek Whiteside
16 - Jonny Thompson, Raymond Baxter
14 - Brian Neill
13 - Davy Montgomery, David Patterson, Scott Hay, Colin Rafferty
12 - Chris Geoffroy
11 - Andy Galloway
09 - John Lowry
08 - Stuart Davison, Craig Laughlin
06 - Aaron Wright
03 - Stephen Magowan
02 - Stephen Carson

Team Managers Darren Sterrett ('A'), Derek Whiteside ('B1') and Peter Leddy ('B2'), will be busy over the coming days selecting their panels for the first event of 2012, the European Championships in the famous Bridlington Spa. Best of luck to all 3.

A massive thanks go to TREVOR HARTE and PAULINE LYNCH who worked tirelessly and non stop running the Competition over the 4 days. Without their know how and team work the Event just wouldn't have been possible.
Also, to the Management and Staff of the Park Plaza Hotel, who as usual bent over backwards to accommodate our every need.
To Eddie and Gareth Haughey from table supplier Baizecraft.
And last but not least, the players who despite the economic conditions at present, turned out in numbers and were a credit to themselves on and off the table.