Byrne storms to Under 21 Title

Congratulations to Conor Byrne from Antrim, who is the new NIPA Under 21s Champion. From a strong field of 21 Conor made his way to the final with wins of 4-3, 5-3, and 5-2. He met Bangor's Terry McDowell in the final who had made his way there with wins of 4-1, 5-0 and 5-3. There was very little between the 2 players in class. This was evident in the Final as in the race to 6 there was never more than one frame between them. The first 3 frames were all quick fire potting after which McDowell led 2-1. The next was scrappy, with both players making mistakes, but eventually it was Byrne who took it to level the match at 2-2. Frames 5 and 6 were shared with some great play, levelling the scores again at 3-3. A break and dish from McDowell in the next gave him a 4-3 lead but Byrne dug deep again to level at 4-4. McDowell broke dry in the 9th frame and Byrne cleared up to edge ahead 5-4, but a pressure clearance from McDowell in the next ensured that the match would go to an 11th and deciding frame. After a bit of jockeying for position Byrne got a half chance. He didn't need asking twice as he ripped out a 7 ball clearance to take frame and match and the title of Northern Ireland Pool Association Under 21 Champion 2010

Pictured above is NIPA Under 21s Manager John McIlreavy (right) presenting Conor Byrne with the Winners trophy and below Terry McDowell receives the Runners Up trophy from NIPA Competitions Manager Ady Toner (right).

Well done to all the players who took part and thanks again to the Ballymena United Social Club for their hospitality. And to Ady Toner and John McIlreavy for running the days events.

Prelims J.McMullan 0-4 S.McClelland, P.Maine 3-4 J.Davidson, M.Hutchinson 4-0 C.Laughlin, L.Wright 4-0 D.Tsang, J.Wallace 1-4 R.Christie
Last 16 S.McClelland 1-4 J.Davidson, M.Hutchinson 4-2 L.Wright, R.Christie 1-4 J.Houston, C.Byrne 4-3 K.Mullan, T.McDowell 4-1 D.Hayes, D.Donnachie 2-4 J.Larkin, R.Martin 3-4 L.McIlreavy, P.Houston 4-3 W.Irvine
Last 8 J.Davidson 3-5 M.Hutchinson, J.Houston 3-5 C.Byrne, T.McDowell 5-0 J.Larkin, L.McIlreavy 5-3 P.Houston
Last 4 M.Hutchinson 2-5 C.Byrne, T.McDowell 5-3 L.McIlreavy
Final C.Byrne 6-5 T.McDowell